RCA Galileo Award

The Rose City Astronomers is one of the largest, most active astronomy clubs in the United States . But, it hasn’t always been that way. Originally, there were two small Portland area astronomy clubs, the Portland Astronomical Society and the OMSI Astronomers. Within these two groups, there was a core of dedicated, visionary members. These people were talented astronomers, hard workers, and enthusiastic about sharing their hobby with others.

Over the years, these people took the Portland area astronomy club from less than 50 members to the nearly 600 we have today. As anyone who has been involved with running an organization knows, this kind of success takes a tremendous amount of work and dedication.

To recognize the debt that the Rose City Astronomers' owe to those whose dedication and work have made the club what it is today, the Board of Directors created the Galileo Service Award in 2002. Named in honor of the father of modern astronomy and physics, this award was created to recognize those who have made significant and pioneering contributions to amateur astronomy and the growth and health of the Rose City Astronomers. Significant means: 10+ years of service. Examples include (but not limited to):

  • Service on the board and/or active participation in RCA activities
  • Organizational aspects of operating the club
  • Pioneering astronomy programs within the club and community
  • Initiation and implementation of new programs and/or activities that benefit the membership
  • Assisting members with activities / programs / personal astronomy development
  • Dedication to the science of amateur astronomy and observing within the club
  • Continued support and participation in RCA activities and programs
  • Instrumental in program development within RCA

Past Award Winners:

  • 2002: Candace Pratt, Jim Girard, Chuck Dethloff, Dale Fenske
  • 2003: Carol Huston, Jim Reilly, Ron Thorkildson
  • 2004: Bob McGown
  • 2005: Jan Keiski
  • 2006: no award was given
  • 2007: Peter Abrahams
  • 2008: no award was given
  • 2009: no award was given
  • 2010: no award was given
  • 2011: no award was given
  • 2012: Dan Gray
  • 2013: no award was given
  • 2014: Larry Godsey
  • 2015: no award was given
  • 2016: no award was given
  • 2017: no award was given
  • 2018: Jim Todd
  • 2019: no award was given
  • 2020: no award was given

2018 The Rose City Astronomers  All Rights Reserved